Annual awards


Given annually to a community member who selflessly advances the Red Wolves athletic program. The award is open to an individual or business.

2008-09 - Troy Derengowski, NewsTalk 930 WHON-AM

2009-10 - Dr. Gregory Woods and the team at Reid Sports Medicine

2010-11 - Wayne Bank and Trust Co.

2011-12 - Chad Bolser, Richmond High School athletic director

2012-13 - Angela Fairchild, IU East basketball scorekeeper and volunteer

2013-14 - Wetzel Family Auto Cruise

2014-15 - Seton Catholic High School

2015-16 - John Dils, Family Fitness Works

2016-17 - Kyle Tom, Lingle Real Estate


Given annually to the male and female student-athlete with the highest GPA. Athlete must be at least a Junior athletically. Athlete must be enrolled at IU East for at least three semesters.


2008-09 - Brittani Foreman (women's volleyball)

2009-10 - No award

2010-11 - Kelsey West (cross country)

2011-12 - Shawna Smith (cross country)

2012-13 - Kristin Waechter (volleyball)

2013-14 - Cheltsi Hinners (tennis)

2014-15 - Mallory Livingston (volleyball)

2015-16 - Mallory Livingston (volleyball)

2016-17 - Mackenzie Boles (track and field)


2008-09 - Mark Bevins (golf)

2009-10 - Mark Bevins (golf)

2010-11 - Devon Niehoff (basketball)

2011-12 - Devon Niehoff (basketball)

2012-13 - Hubie Branstetter (golf)

2013-14 - Cameron Cox (golf)

2014-15 - Kyle Hall (cross country/track & field)

2015-16 - Kyle Hall (cross country/track and field)

2016-17 - Lucas Huffman (men's basketball)


Given annually to the student-athlete that best exemplifies the five core champions of character traits: respect, responsibility, integrity, servant leadership and sportsmanship.

2008-09 - Devon Niehoff (men's basketball)

2009-10 - Tyler Rigby (men's basketball)

2010-11 - David Sanders (men's basketball)

2011-12 - Drew Houck (men's golf)

2012-13 - Kristin Smith (women's golf)

2013-14 - Tyler Fangman (men's basketball)

2014-15 - Keragan Niehoff (women's basketball)

2015-16 - Breanna Nowak (women's golf)

2016-17 - Sage Henderson (men's track and field)


Given annually to an exemplary athlete voted on by the coaches, athletic staff and local media. Athlete must have participated in a Champions of Character event. Athlete can be from any academic class.


2008-09 - Amy Stultz (volleyball)

2009-10 - Brianna "Breezy" Strete (volleyball)

2010-11 - Lauren Crump (volleyball)

2011-12 - Lauren Crump (volleyball)

2012-13 - Lauren Crump (volleyball)

2013-14 - Mallory Livingston (volleyball)

2014-15 - Mallory Livingston (volleyball)

2015-16 - Mallory Livingston (volleyball)

2016-17 - Tia King (basketball)


2008-09 - Tyler Rigby (basketball)

2009-10 - Tyler Rigby (basketball)

2010-11 - Tyler Rigby (basketball)

2011-12 - Marcus Isaac (basketball)

2012-13 - David Sanders (track and field)

2013-14 - Joey Smart (golf)

2014-15 - Huston Clark (basketball)

2015-16 - Lucas Huffman (basketball)

2016-17 - Seth Reynolds (track and field)


The purpose and mission of the IU East SAAC is to serve as a voice for all student-athletes and an opportunity for the student-athlete population to more effectively communicate with the IU East Athletic Department administration. As a recognized organization of Indiana University East, SAAC educates the student body by offering activities and events to the general university community. SAAC held its first end-of-year banquet in 2016


Heart Award - Matt Flood (men's track and field)

Leadership Award - Tia King (women's basketball)

Coach of the Year - Tiffani Selhorst (women's basketball)

Best Performance - Parker Salinas (men's basketball) - game-winning putback at West Virginia University Institute of Technology

Best Moment - Men's basketball national tournament quarterfinals victory vs. Briar Cliff University


Newcomer of the Year - Salvador Campos (men's cross country/track & field)

Leadership Award - Clint Swanson (men's track & field) 

Coach of the Year - Tiffani Selhorst (women's basketball)

Best Performance - Seth Reynolds (men's track and field) earned All-America honors with sixth-place finish in 110 meter hurdles at NAIA Indoor Track and Field National Championships

Heart Award - Ray Ramsey (men's basketball)

Best Moment Award - IU East women's basketball winning River States Conference tournament championship on home floor after heartbreaking losses in championship game the previous two years

IU East Athletic Committee Appreciation Awards - Sage Henderson (men's track and field) and Morgan Steinbrunner (volleyball)